I haven't posted in a while, I apologize. But the truth is, not a whole has been going on. I don't remember where I left off last time, so I'll just pick up with what seems like the most pertinent information within the past week or so.
First, I more or less nailed my first class assignment which was a speech/presentation over Chile's 10th region, Los Lagos. It's a beautiful pocket of God's Green Earth with a ton of rich history, culture, and tons of things to see. I really want to spend a lot of time down there this summer before second semester starts. Speaking of traveling, a few of us have kind of set some plans for the summer. They include Peru, Bolivia, (Ecuador??), Paraguay, Uruguay and all of Chile. They're really ambitious plans, and if I can see half of those countries I'd be pretty pumped. But that's a long way off... and first I have to finish a semester's worth of classes.
The language program I'm in right now isn't that difficult, but it's kind of intense. Three and a half hours a day worth of culture and grammar. I love it! But I always get super hungry and tired in class so to keep from eating my pencil or falling asleep, I normally eat all of my lunch before the class is over. It's a good thing my mama here packs me a lot... usually a huge tupperware full of leftovers from the night before. This has included lentils and rice, chicken and rice, spaghetti, and normally a lot of random, cooked vegetables. I eat really balanced meals here. Their meals seem to always represent each of the food groups, which I like a lot. Anyways- the language program- it ends this Friday with a test, I think. I'm pretty sure it's a placement test to determine which grammar class we enter once classes start.
I'll start taking classes on August 3rd, but I won't be enrolled in them until two weeks after that. For the international students, that period of time is called "Shopping Week," and it's designed for students to be able to sit in on classes and make sure they like them before they register. My program requires me to take a Chilean Culture class and a grammar class, and then we can take two full classes of our choice and an additional one-unit course. I'm hoping to take a journalism class, a literature class and then a sports class. I was thinking ultimate frisbee, tai chi, or a salsa class. Who knows.
Wednesday last week we took a field trip to Cerro Santa Lucia. It's basically a hill with a castle built into/on top of it, but it's crazy cool looking. The architecture is very European and it's gorgeous. I'll post pictures at the bottom of the entry. We made it to the top of the castle to catch the sunset, but there were too many clouds to make it a perfect sunset. Two days later on Friday we went to two museums, the first one was the Museum of Arte Precolumbino.... basically art before European influence, all by the indigenous peoples of Central and South America. It was very interesting. The second one was the Museum of Bellas Artes, which was also very interesting, but a large majority of the paintings and sculptures were, from what I saw, made from the 1970s or later.
On Saturday, a group of people from the program went up to the mountains to go snowboarding. A few friends and I stayed closer to town to go check out the National Reserve, Rio Clarillo. We took a bus to Pirque about 30 minutes outside of Santiago. From there we passed through the town and got dropped off at the last bus stop, which, unfortunately, was about 5km. before the entrance to the park. We walked about 2km. before a truck came up behind us and pulled over to give us a ride. The back of the truck wasn't too comfy, but it was fun, and it gave us a good way to see the park before we started hiking. The day, before we left, couldn't have been better. It was really mild and clear and out in the park, there wasn't any smog, which was a nice relief. It clouded over and cooled down on our way out, but "asi es Chile." We got a student discount at the gate to the park so it only cost us 700 pesos (less than $1.50) to get in. The river Clarillo is pretty shallow, at least right now, but it's beautiful and there was some snow cover from the storm that passed a few days before. The hike was definitely a ton of fun and we want to go back to conquer the Chile trail which takes about 6 hours to do round trip.
I got home and took an awesome nap yesterday, ate dinner, and then went over to a friend's apartment with the intention of pregaming before heading out for the night. We ended up sitting on the floor until 4 in the morning talking and drinking boxed wine. It was awesome.
I think that's all the news right now. My Spanish is definitely improving, I can understand my family a lot better and I can talk better, I think. Plus it's a lot less awkward around the house, which is always good.








